Twenty-Six NISD Students Earn Texas All-State Honors

Submitted By Julie Ann Matonis

Twenty-six NISD Fine Arts students were selected to the Texas Music Educators’ Association (TMEA) All-State Band, Choir, Orchestra, and Jazz bands. All-State is the highest individual honor that a music student can receive in public school music education. Over 1,700 students are selected through a process that begins with over 64,000 students from around the state vying for the honor to perform in one of 15 All-State ensembles.

Students will rehearse and perform with nationally-recognized conductors during the TMEA Music Convention to be held in San Antonio in February. Visit the TMEA website for concert information.
Brandeis HS:
Savannah Gray, Choir
Ruth Mati, Choir
Ruben Ortega, Choir
Stephen Fagan, Jazz Band
Antonio Jasiczek, Band
Eric Jin, Band
Nicholas Garcia-Hettinger, Orchestra
Brennan HS:
Matthew Perez, Choir
Jeremiah Guillen, Band
Joshua Salmon, Jazz Band
Clark HS
Esther Ko, Orchestra
Health Careers HS
Kathleen Ran, Orchestra
Brian Kang, Orchestra
Jay HS
Thomas Petterson, Choir
Marshall HS
Klint Fabian, Choir
Jacob Authier, Band
O’Connor HS 
Camilla Wickman, Choir
Gavin Magee, Choir
Matthew Whyte, Choir
Alyssa Estrada, Band
Brendan Frederick, Jazz Band
Stevens HS
Sarah Macias, Band
Taft HS
Katie Bulen, Choir
Julian Canalas, Choir
Ivan Rodriguez, Jazz Band
Warren HS
Mark Rogers, Choir
Teachers are Anna Osterman, Richard Herrera, David Suarez, Jesse Cuellar, and Kevin Hettinger, Brandeis HS; Amber Shodrock, Thomas Kober, Mark Wolocki, and William Pridgen, Brennan HS; Teresa Nguyen, Clark HS; Jennifer Clark, Health Careers HS; Alicia Dean, Jay HS; Sherry Millican, Kevin Tabb, Daniel Person, and Daniel Bentley, Marshall HS; Jeffrey Thames, Roland Sandoval, George Garza, Wesley Perkins, and Jaime Ramos, O’Connor HS; John Dominguez, Adam Casiano, and Chad Taylor, Stevens HS; Judy Welch, Amanda Stevenson, Greg Mills, and Rick Astorga, Taft HS; and Colin Varville and Sarah Stevens, Warren HS.